<< back to blog

How much do you know about Hawaii?

Given this month’s theme is all about your Hawaiian knowledge, I’ve hunted out some interesting (and some what obscure) facts about Hawaii….

  1. There are only 13 letters in the Hawaiian alphabet.
  2. Hawaii grows by roughly 42 acres each year!
  3. The state of Hawaii consists of eight main islands, the biggest of which is called The Big Island.
  4. Snakes are outlawed in Hawaii (they’re only allowed in zoos)
  5. Hawaii is the only US state that commercially grows coffee, cacao and vanilla beans.
  6. The people of Hawaii consume the most Spam per capita in the US!
  7. It is considered rude to refuse to wear a lei flower if someone offers it.
  8. Hawaii has its own time zone.
  9. Hawaii is the only state in the U.S. to honor a monarch – they celebrate King Kamehameha Day on 11th June.
  10. No matter how old you are or how long you’ve lived in the state, only people with Hawaiian ancestry are called “Hawaiians.” People of non-Hawaiian ancestry—even those born and raised there—call themselves “locals.”

So now it’s your turn. How much do you know about Hawaii?

For the next five days, simply scan the QR code below, or on your global gathering mousepad each day, answer a simple question about Hawaii correctly, and you’ll go into the draw to win a daily spot prize!

Go one step further and submit the correct answer for all questions to go into the draw to win one of four Global Gathering Surfboards!

What are you waiting for? Go get your trivia on and get yourself to Global!


About the Author
Becca is an avid traveller, a trained copywriter and one of Australia’s leading video marketers. As a creative content producer she’s pumped to be engaging, entertaining and intriguing the FCTG nations with written and visual communications in the run up to Global.